top of page

The Company Influencer - Instagram's Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle Team



Instagram's Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle partnership team dressing up as Eva Chen to celebrate her Instagram anniversary. Credits: @kristiedash

Companies with great culture, values, and compensation would no doubt have the best people. And these people will attract other great people into creating better synergy for the organization as a whole. For this I will introduce you to the great fashion, beauty, lifestyle partnership and marketing communications team at Instagram New York.

The team consists of 6 or more people including Eva Chen (@evachen212), Kristie Dash (@kristiedash), Landon Morgado (@landon), Ashley Chapman (@achapmanpr), Emilie Fife (@emilie) and Virginia Nam (@ginnynam) (I’m pretty sure there’s more but these are the members I mainly see on each other’s social sites).

I first recognized the team when I attended this year’s Vogue Codes event and at that time I was only following Eva Chen on Instagram. I saw several familiar faces surrounding her during the day, and seeing how everyone was crowding up to her I ended up reverting back from initiating a conversation. So instead I crawled through her Instagram and stalked the bones out of her. She puts up plenty of content during her time in Australia, and that is when I started to notice Landon and Ashley. I followed them both to see how their trip went and saw overlapping contents from different mobile cameras of the trio jumping into the beach pool in Sydney, petting koalas and going for a team workout. This is the part where I got hooked; they went back to US and uploaded more office contents and more people started getting involved. Before I knew it I was indulging in all their collective and individual contents, and I end up following all of them on Instagram – the very platform that they represent.

All narratives aside, the Instagram team knows that the platform relies heavily on content. They know how the platform works; the #hashtags, the products, the algorithm, the insights. And they have embraced it in the most clever manner and more fittingly, in the most genuine and hilarious way. It’s quite challenging to be genuine on a platform that has been greatly criticized for formulating deceptive identities and thriving from a 'pretentious' culture, but all their contents had been far from that – because it chose not to be the latter. Really, I know all about Eva Chen’s family, how Tom loves classical music and how Tao would dance to it on a Friday night at home, how Ren hasn’t been eating her lunch, I know about Kristie changing her hair color and how she had tea in Versace’s mini conference room, I know that Landon is from Hawaii, that Ginny is a Potterhead, that Emilie just got engaged and that Ashley’s secretly good at fitness. Apart from knowing them individually, I also know that they’ve been going to different gyms to work out together for team building activity, all while filming their sessions and promoting the fitness influencers they work with. They all posted their #ootds on the Instagram mirror selfie and made their daily activities into #content (most of which they also do as a joke).

They have become the everything-influencer but most importantly they are brand advocates of Instagram. That’s what a great culture can result to, a team who loves the products and services they offer, who are transparent on their day to day activities and who has a life in and out of the office, who cares about each other, who are consistent, creative and educative about team building activities, and who influence. Long gone is the time to only have work barbecues or after work drinks, or installing gym facilities and coffee machines. Companies need to connect and create chemistry, they need to educate their employees in their own relevant and creative ways, and they need to show it. This is what everyone should learn from Instagram’s fashion and beauty team in order to make their employees their own brand advocates, because attracting great talents and spreading positive word of mouth is what makes a business succeed.

Now that we’re at the end please follow them on Instagram, I’m obsessed and I need someone to talk to about their contents. Hit me up once you do! Cheers


bottom of page